Sew it begins…

by zoesylviasimpson

I’ve finished my first year at university! It’s gone so quick and I’ve really enjoyed it but I’m knackered and looking forward to the next 4 months of summer! (it’s a hard life…)

And with uni out of the way I finally have all the time in the world to spend on the caravan. Yay!

♥   ♥   ♥   ♥   ♥   ♥   ♥

So the sleeping in the caravan didn’t go as planned… I stuck it for the best part of two hours before I got too cold and went back in the house. That’s when I realised what the caravan needs; curtains!

I want to use this project to develop my craft skills and that means making whatever I can from whatever I can, so I’m making my own curtains!

I bought some fabric from Boyes. You can have a look at it in the photo below; the printed fabric (in the foreground of the pic) was dirt cheap at £6 a meter and the lining fabric (behind the printed fabric in the pic) was only £2 a meter. I bought 3.6 meters of both because that’s all there was left of the printed fabric (I made sure to check that they’ll be getting more in as 3.6 meters is no where near enough for all 5 windows!).
Photo 21-05-2015 21 14 13

Photo 21-05-2015 21 12 56

A close-up of this gorgeous fabric ♥ ♥ ♥

I’ve decided I’m gonna be really simple with these curtains. I’m hoping once I get the hang of fabrics and sewing and stuff (and with the help of Pinterest!) I’ll be able to make some Roman blinds but for now I’m sticking with simply hanging the curtains from curtain clips on a curtain rod. I’ve already bought two curtain tension rods and seeing as I don’t fancy drilling holes in the caravan walls in fear of making a pigs ear of it, I’ve bought some self-adhesive hooks to rest the rods on. Eeeeeasy-peasy.

Anyway, as I was saying, I’m sticking with simple curtains. So far I’ve made one of two curtains for the big bedroom window. Here’s how I did it:

First, I measured the windows and the length and width I’d want the curtains. Then I cut these measurements out accordingly of the fabric, adding 4cm to allow me to make a hem.

Photo 22-05-2015 19 55 44 Photo 22-05-2015 19 56 00 Photo 22-05-2015 19 56 23

Photo 21-05-2015 22 26 16

At this point I attempted to free-hand sew the hem as I didn’t (past tense…) own a sewing machine. However, after only 3 attempts I lost patience with my shoddy work and ordered a cheap sewing machine from Argos. Their cheapest one was in the Value Range at £50… not too bad I suppose.

Photo 22-05-2015 15 06 55 (1)

Mini sewing machine from the Argos Value Range – £50

Photo 22-05-2015 15 06 50

Photo 22-05-2015 15 27 49

Photo 22-05-2015 15 27 33

My first hem! Not to shabby if I may say so myself…

I hemmed like this all the way around the fabric so that I can simply attach the curtain clips to it and then hang the clips on the curtain rods. One curtain down, nine to go! It’s gonna be a long week…

